Kansas Concealed Carry Laws Change July 1, 2013

Kansas Concealed Carry Laws Change July 1, 2013
July 4, 2013 Jess
Kansas

From the Kansas Attonery General’s Website:

Recognized Non-Kansas Concealed Carry Handgun Licenses

On and after July 1, 2013:

Beginning July 1, 2013, the State of Kansas will recognize all “valid” concealed carry licenses (or permits, cards, etc.) that are issued by another State or the District of Columbia. HOWEVER, there are two important caveats to that general rule: (1) this recognition only extends to individuals who are not residents of Kansas. If you are passing through Kansas to another state, or staying in Kansas temporarily for business or pleasure – a valid CCH license from another jurisdiction will be honored beginning July 1, 2013; and (2) this recognition will only allow the license holder to carry a concealed handgun. Any other defensive weapons carried by the non-Kansas license holder must, as with all Kansas residents, be carried in accordance with Kansas law while they are within Kansas’ borders.

If you are a new resident to Kansas – on or after July 1, 2010 – and possess a valid CCH license from another jurisdiction, you may apply for the Kansas CCH and obtain a 180-day receipt from the Attorney General’s office which will allow you to continue carrying with your non-Kansas CCH to continue carrying concealed while your Kansas CCH application is pending. Persons moving to Kansas may be allowed to bypass the state’s required handgun safety and training class if the training they received in another jurisdiction was equal to or greater than the Kansas training requirements. At a minimum, this training must include handgun safety, actual firing of handguns, and a review of laws governing the carrying of concealed handguns and the use of deadly force. A person applying for the Kansas license must provide a copy of their training certificate and proof that the training included the minimum requirements for recognition. The 180 day receipt will indicate whether or not the person is required to complete the Kansas training class.

States That Recognize Kansas Concealed Carry Handgun Licenses

DO NOT assume that states recognized by Kansas will automatically recognize a Kansas CCH license. The following states have acknowledged that they do recognize the Kansas concealed carry license. While the Attorney General’s Office will attempt to keep this list current, Kansas concealed carry licensees are cautioned to check with the licensing authority in each state before traveling. Licensees are responsible for knowing and complying with the laws regulating concealed carry in these states.

Alaska Arizona Arkansas Colorado
Florida Idaho Indiana Iowa
Kentucky Louisiana Michigan Minnesota
Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska
Nevada New Mexico North Carolina North Dakota
Ohio Oklahoma South Carolina South Dakota
Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont
West Virginia Wisconsin

States that Do Not Recognize Kansas Concealed Carry Handgun Licenses

Alabama California Connecticut Delaware
District of Columbia Georgia Hawaii Illinois
Maine
Maryland Massachusetts New Hampshire
New Jersey New York Oregon Pennsylvania
Rhode Island Virginia Washington Wyoming

Comments (6)

  1. Michael Teer 4 years ago

    Do you or are you planning to offer Conceal Carry classes?

    • Author
      Jess Hancock 4 years ago

      Michael thank you for the question. At this time I am not offering any classes. I do have lots of knowledgeable friends, fellow LEO’s that I would be happy to refer you to. I am in the process of locating a building and have plans to open a shop and when I do I will offer classes and training on site. I am just not equipped with the proper space to hold the classes now in my temporary location.

  2. John Powers 4 years ago

    Good info. I was stopped by LEO for speeding on my motorcycle here in AZ a while back. As I was instructed, I kept my hands on the wheel (handlebars) in this particular encounter. I immediately told the officer that I have a CCL and was carrying, He asked me where the firearm was, I told him and the rest of the stop was uneventful. He did mention that I no longer needed my CCL to carry concealed in AZ. I explained to him that I ride into neighboring states often and those states have reciprocity. If I did not keep ,my license current and were carrying a concealed weapon I would be in big trouble.

    So, follow the laws and know before you go. It’s unfortunate that we don’t have a national conceal carry permit, but until we do, make sure you are operating withing the laws of the state/municipality where you are traveling.

  3. John Powers 4 years ago

    I’ve found this website to be helpful in knowing where I can and cannot legally carry based on my state’s CCL (AZ). The responsibility of the firearms owner is always ultimately their responsibility. By this I mean don’t believe everything you read on the internet. But it gives you an idea of where you may be able to carry. When in doubt, don’t do it. One particular caveat here and in many states are Indian reservations. They operate on a completely different set of laws, so educate yourself before you go and plan accordingly.

  4. seks date 4 years ago

    hello you have a cool site. I wanna thank you for publishing this cool information with us. Keep up great work.

  5. John 4 years ago

    For someone new to kansas that has a valid CCL from another start does anyone know how long it takes the attorney generals office to issue the 180 day receipt while your application is pending?

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Join a Concealed and Carry Class Today!

Pick Your Class

Newsletter sign up

})